My first time with DuckTales (NES)

DuckTales_RichB

If you were a kid in the late 80s, early 90’s you know what DuckTales was. I mean you would’ve had to be living under a rock to not know or I guess not being born yet would also be a problem.  During this era my free time was all about the NES and cartoons, and boy did Disney produce some quality cartoons back then. I’m not talking their movies, we all know they are quality. I’m referring to their actual thirty minute cartoons. Why if it weren’t for DuckTales being created we wouldn’t have this fine classic that we all know and love to this day.

Disney launched “The Disney Afternoon” which conveniently came on right after I got home from school. Not sure if it was like that for everyone or I just lucked out. The earliest cartoon I recall seeing was Disney’s Adventures of the Gummi Bears.  I wasn’t the biggest fan of this show but it kept me entertained after school as I munched on some cookies or chips. Those were my after school snacks of choice! I can’t recall the first time I saw Ducktales but when I did boy was I hooked. I quickly became obsessed like every other kid back then and it was the talk of the playground. My mom even began recording the series for me so I could watch them in my free time whenever I wanted! One Friday night, dad took my brother and I to the local video store to rent a game for the weekend. That’s when I saw it, DuckTales the videogame!

The first thing I noticed about the box was the little red Capcom logo on the top. That already told me I would be getting a great experience from it. I mean they did Megaman, Ghosts n Goblins, Legendary Wings, Gun Smoke and Strider. You see my point, I could go on and on! They had one copy left and I quickly snatched it up. My brother looked at me like I was crazy as we usually had to decide on a game. Once he saw what it was his eyes got big and we told dad we were ready. Worst part about being a kid is waiting on your parents. He was still looking for movies to rent. When we got home we wasted no time jamming the game into the NES!

screen cap

Words can’t describe the enjoyment we got from this game! The bright detailed sprites were incredible and the simple yet precise controls were amazing! Having the ability to choose where to go was a little overwhelming for me back then and during the time we had it rented we could never get through the game. It was pretty tough for a seven year old at the time, at least for me. Regardless of the difficulty I played it as much as I could that weekend. I did that with any game we rented really because the place we rented at only rented games out for two days! So I had to get as much time with them as I could. My brother usually just watched me play through DuckTales as I think it was tougher on him being a couple years younger than me. Sunday came and it went back, but that wasn’t the last I saw of it. It was a frequent re rent by us for a couple years. Since then I have acquired a copy that I revisit at least twice a year. I really can’t recommend this game enough.

Fast forward to now, 2013 and we are a week away from DuckTales Remastered. A remake of the classic game with added content and voice acting from the original DuckTales cast. When news first broke of this remake I nearly burst at the seams with excitement. It’s being made by WayForward who I basically trust any old IP to. After all they gave us the awesome Double Dragon Neon, A Boy and his Blob, and Contra 4. All of which were loyal to their originals. Needless to say I’m stoked and cannot wait. Fans of the original be sure to get this and relive that magic again, or if this will be your first experience with it enjoy!!

DuckTales RM

Listen to Duck Tales and other great Disney NES music here on Retrocore Classic Game Music: http://vagary.tv/retrocoremusic/archives/265

One thought on “My first time with DuckTales (NES)

Leave a Reply

